Top of the Mornin’ to Ya.

How’ye? So the past several days in Dublin have been immaculate. I’m overwhelmed by the beauty and culture here, and already, it has led me to be at ease and challenge myself at the same time.
Off the bus from the airport, it was sensory overload. The accumulation of jet lag, hunger, and heavy bags was negligible compared to the excitement I felt. Walking down Dames St. in search of the hostel, the cobblestone alleys peeking out and historic buildings were reminiscent of why I loved Europe. The stares received on my end were hilarious, as I can only imagine what three exhausted-looking gals with huge backpacks and maps in their hands, look like in the middle of lunch time in city center of Dublin.
I was taken aback by the left-side driving, beeping crosswalks, the wide sidewalks, and the busyness of it all. There’s this refreshing jolt of anxiousness I get when I’m curious about a place, and I got this déjà vu gut feeling of the love of traveling — YES!
Fast forward a several hours, my travel buds, Liz and Veda, are sight-seeing. Liz is my analytical, highly intelligent friend, and Veda is this spunky, daring, down-to-earth girl so the three of us is powerhouse on this trip. We saw the Dublin Castle, went in a library, Bank of Ireland, took a campus tour of beautiful Trinity College, and ended the night with cold Guiness on tap. I stayed in a different hostel than them, so my night gave way to more discovery as I walked along the river and getting the bearings on a different side of town.
 
Our third day, we made a trip to Galeway and the Cliffs of Moher. Not sure what to say except WOW. Galeway is a quaint little festival town on the opposite side of Dublin. The Claddagh ring originated here, Christopher Columbus prayed at a church here, and this town was home to a handful of royalty. Being the most fortified city in Ireland back then, the town had this intriguing and liberating vibe of relaxed flow now. Oh, they also love JFK here. Proceeding the best seafood chowder I’ve ever had was hiking the Cliffs of Moher. Google it, and yes, they really do look like that. It’s surreal physically being there, though, I’ll say that. Mother Nature put in serious work for this.
 
 
Back to Dublin, the rest of our time here was spent exploring Grafton Street, stumbling through the little streets, going to Ireland’s oldest pubs, hitting up parks and museums, and learning Irish folk songs and enjoying live music everywhere. Drink-wise, we had Guinness by day, cappuccinos with lunch, and wine and ciders at night. Not traditional of what we’re used to, but I’m certainly not complaining. The lifestyle here was like a mental massage and gave me clarity to just how important it is to treat yourself and not be so tense and work-focused. A lesson for us all, perhaps. I mean, when you’re in a busy pub and everyone is clapping to a song about crying cockels and mussels (I don’t know, either), all your worries don’t seem that big of a deal anymore.
I love the small streets, pubs and restaurants that spill over every corner and alleyways. I love the graffiti and art on random buildings. I love the historical buildings and monuments that stand so bold, yet so nonchalant to the everyday local. I love that they say, what’s the criac? like we say helloI love the people here. I’m such a sucker for nice people and while I thought Coloradans were nice folks, the Irish are genuinely kind, kind souls. I already know I will be back.
Ireland was the perfect start to my travels, and I’m anxious to see what’s in store! Next stop: London!
 
Ciao for now,
Dee
For on-the-go updates of my nomadic journey, I’m Snapping (thisisdeelife), tweeting, and Gramming!
Leave a Reply

